• Welcome to Integraforums.com everyone!

If you're joining us from CivicX.com, then you may already have an account here!

As long as you were registered on CivicX.com as of May 24, 2020 or earlier, then you can simply login here with the same username and password!

Sponsored

DAE get little rocks stuck between rotor and brake shield?

Kalidas

First Name
R
Threads
Reaction score
Car(s)
Integra Type S 2024
this has nothing to do with brembo rotors; as has been mentioned countless times now, lots of cars get this. i'm not a brake engineer but there's almost certainly a deliberate design reason for this gap, and small rocks getting lodged in there from sticky summer tires is unfortunate collateral.

and what is being fixed under warranty? is the dealership just removing the rocks for them? are they fixing damage done to the face of the rotor from the rock scraping it? are they messing with the shield to make the gap smaller? i can tell you from dealing with my own local dealership if i took my ITS to them because of a rock in the rotor shield, they would 100% charge for me it
Mine didn’t charge. When a car is under warranty and making a noise, they have to look at it and fix it whether it’s a stone or something else because the customer doesn’t know it’s a stone. I cannot know it’s a rock in the rotor and they did say that they adjusted the gap and they were clear they’ll fix it whenever it happens.
Stones get into calipers - yes I get it but it’s VERY RARE for that to happen.
It’s a design problem if the occurrences don’t make sense statistically. Nobody I know (family and friends) and none of my other cars ever had this issue, so my take is that if this is occurring again and again with integras then it’s a design flaw, and a major one.
And I am an engineer, these kind of “unfortunate collaterals” every few thousand miles are unacceptable in engineering design.
I mean, off-roading vehicles have disc brakes and calipers!

SlippyFist

Threads
Reaction score
Car(s)