• Welcome to Integraforums.com everyone!

If you're joining us from CivicX.com, then you may already have an account here!

As long as you were registered on CivicX.com as of May 24, 2020 or earlier, then you can simply login here with the same username and password!

Sponsored

Highway debris caused driver door paint damage, advice wanted

wagood

First Name
Aidan
Threads
Reaction score
Car(s)
'23 Integra 6MT
Yesterday while driving down the highway, I heard a loud BANG against the driver door.
Looks like something got flung up and left some scratches and a slight dent on the door panel, then decided that wasn't enough and proceeded to take out a tiny chunk of the door handle before leaving.
I'm new to any kind of paint repair. I've looked online and seen dr color chip recommended and I'm thinking one of their kits is probably a lot cheaper than taking this to a repair shop.

Do people think that I can get "good enough to not notice" with something like that with no prior experience? I don't mind going DIY, just want to not have to look at this every single time I go to drive. Any tips/advice appreciated.

Door handle damage (roughly size of a non-thumb fingernail):
door0.jpg

door1.jpg

Driver door panel damage (main scratch roughly 1 inch long):
side.jpg

Dakei

Threads
Reaction score
Car(s)
2023 Acura Integra A-Spec 6MT
That kind of damage would actually warrant a full panel replacement and color-matched paint job. Based on what I can see clear coat, base layer, primer, and even some door panel material was shaved off from the impact. You're not going to be able to DIY, and I doubt any body shop would attempt to repair this without replacement parts.

If you aren't willing to go through with the repair process, you can try to use a touch-up pen (https://www.ebay.com/itm/3031971777...b19c81250437cd47a2f30330f0ed03551c4efdaf3409e). Do keep in mind this won't be a permanent solution and it will leave a fairly noticeable blemish on your door panel.

OP
OP
wagood